In just a few weeks...

This year has flown by. And in a little while I'm returning to 'another world'. A world that will feel weird. Because I'll be surrounded by the paradox of everything and yet nothing being the same. In a few weeks I will give hugs and I will cry while saying goodbye to people I didn't know a year ago, to go back to the people that I hugged and cried with a year ago, whenever I left. I will leave my best friends, to return to my best friends. I'll leave my family, to return to my family.

I will go back to the place where I grew up. I will go back to Ermelo, the town with the same familiar roads, and even though I haven't been there for the last 10 months, I'll still recognize every single thing, like I had never left. I will walk into the house where I had lived my whole life, and I will walk into my bedroom, and I will think about how much my life changed this year and how much I have changed. And the weird thing is that everything in my room will be the same, but I will be different. And I will realize that the things I thought were important one year ago, aren't important at all, and the things that I hold highest now, nobody at home will understand.

And I'm wondering who will pick me up at the airport? And who will call me? And what will I do my first days back in the Netherlands? Am I going to work at my old job? Who will I see at the party at Saturday night? What is everybody doing? And how long will it take before I start missing things from here? And probably after the first week everything will be back to normal. People get used to me being back. I told all my stories and I've heard all the stories I missed while I was gone. And I will definitely realize how much has changed.

I will realize that I have to live with missing people for the rest of my life. Because when I'm in the Netherlands I will miss my American family and friends. But when I'm in America I will miss my Dutch family and friends. And I will try to balance everything out. But I know now, that my heart will never beat fully again. Because I left something behind in every person I've met and every place I've been to. And I am never gonna be able to be with all those people and at all those places at the same time. So I know that the rest of my life I have to life with a ache in my heart from missing people. But I also know, that the rest of my life, I will have people I love all over the world.

During this year, I've learned the meaning of true friendship. I know with who I kept in touch over this past year and I know now who I hold dearest to my heart. I've learned a lot. I've had my heart broken. And I broke hearts. I've helped my friends. And my friends helped me. I broke rules. And some rules broke me. I've been for late night swims. I've stayed up all night. I've laughed so hard that I almost peed my pants. But I've also felt hopeless, being hours away from home whenever I needed their help or they needed mine.

In a few weeks I will leave. In a few weeks I will clean my room, take pictures and souvenirs down and pack my clothes. I will take my memories and dreams and put them away and save them for my return to this world. In a few weeks I will arrive. In a few weeks I will unpack my suitcase and have (healthy) dinner with my Dutch family. I will unpack old memories and dreams that had been put away for the past year. In a few weeks I have to find the strength the return and to adapt to a world that is the same, yet so different, because I have changed. In a few weeks nothing will be the same.

In just a few weeks...

lots of love,

Fleur

Reacties

Reacties

Mama

Mooi, verder zijn er geen woorden voor. Ilove you

wil fleischeuer

Very nice and deepgoing analyses of your stay at Kerville!! you describle feelings and thoughts in this story! hopefully to see u soon again in your homecountry. loots of funnyevents during yoour last weeks !
Opa Wil

opa

Lieve Fleur, ik ga maar gewoon in het Nederlands, want dat moet je straks toch weer spreken. Ik vind het een heel filisofisch verhaal, waarin jij jouw emoties en gevoelens laat zien. Evengoed zal ik blij zijn als jij weer veilig in Nederland bent. Liefs en geniet van de tijd die je nog hebt
Opa

Tjerk

Wow Fleur, what an amazing story! You show a very thorough and mature understanding of your own feelings and emotions. I can imagine you learned a lot these past months. Enjoy your last weeks in the US and I hope you have a safe journey back to the Netherlands.

Tante Mireille

Geniet er nog lekker van en deze ervaring pakt niemand je meer af!

Katja

Trots op je????

Papa

Verdorie Fleur, wat mooi en goed....Ik kan niet wachten tot het 5 juni is. Knuffel en geniet van de laatste weken in Texas.

Oma Nelly

Hoi meisje ,
Ik had wat meer tijd met lezen maar het was weer treffend,
Want je gaat nu echt aftellen. Ik vind het berichtje van je hostmom op fb erg lief. Zegt heel veel over de fam. Geniet de komende weken
nog met je amerikaanse fam en vrienden .groetjes
Liefs n kus. Oma

Eveline van Dijk

Tsjonge Fleur.... tranen in m'n ogen.... wat beschrijf je alles treffend! Zo jong je bent, zo veel (levens)ervaring!
Veel mensen halen dit niet. Kanjer!

Tot gauw.
liefs.
Eveline

Oom Ron

My goodyness, right-between-the-eyes, beautiful! Mmm... balancing de paradoxes in life. I'm still struggling and by this: learning & loving. A self-contained adventure and it's valuable. Enjoy, with all kind of senses the time left. See yah!

Marion Busscher

Lieve Fleur.
Mooie dame.
Volwassen dame.
Geniet nog volop van de tijd die je hebt in Texas.
Kijk uit naar je reis terug.
Iedereen zal gauw je gevoelens gaan begrijpen.
Je bent tenslotte een open boek.
Dat kan volgens mij Amerika niet veranderen.
Een prachtige ervaring voor je doel in de toekomst.
Dikke kus
Marion

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!