See you soon, Texas!

608 days ago I hopped on a plane to the USA, for the very first time, with no idea what to expect and who I would meet. 310 days ago I had to go back to the Netherlands, leaving a whole new life behind. And today is the day that I'm going back.

I made this blog two years ago to write about everything during my exchange year and to keep y'all updated, and I know my exchange year is over, but I couldn't stop myself from writing another blog while sitting in the plane not being able to fall asleep. I've been sitting in this plane for 4 hours already, and while everybody is peacefully asleep, I'm sitting here wide awake. My ears are starting to hurt from wearing earphones for the last 4 hours, I already played a hundred games of 4-in-a-row and the seat I'm sitting in doesn't have a little tv or any other amusement. So I started to write.

Even though my exchange experience is over, and I will never have it agian, my American friends, family and memories will be forever. Since the day I came back to the Netherlands, I've been missing America. And since that day, I knew I wanted to go back. But plane tickets are expensive and I started going to college so I had no idea if I would ever be able to buy a ticket. But like I had learned during my exchange year, if you have a dream, work for it, and make it come true. So that's what I did. And here I am...

I am so excited to see everyone back and to see how everybody is doing. But I'm also kinda nervous. Because things have changed, it's gonna be different. People change. My senior friends are going to college now, so will they be able to come to Kerrville to hang out? And when I left Texas, I spoke English fluently but I think I'm not that good anymore, so is it gonna be weird to talk to people agian? And last year, a really good friend I made there had a car accident and died, he is not gonna be there anymore. And he was one of the few people I spoke to everyday since I left Texas, we made plans for whenever I came back to visit. But he is not there anymore. It's gonna feel weird.

But overall, I know I'm going to have two amazing weeks. I'm seeing everyone back I've missed for so long. I've been looking forward to this moment since the moment I left. So I'm just gonna enjoy whatever I'm going to do. But first I'll have to fly and sit in airports for 15 more hours, hopefully I'll fall asleep on the next flight, because time is going soooo slow and I just wanna be in Texas right now.

Kerrville; Texas; see ya soon!


Lots of Love,

Fleur


"Home is wherever you leave everything you love and never question that it will be there when you return"

Reacties

Reacties

tante Mo

Have a goog time!

Papa

Enjoy your time out there!

Oma Nelly

Gezellige dagen ,geniet ervan. Xxoma

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!